jump to navigation

Dancing September 5, 2009

Posted by texasheartland in Dancing, Feelings, learning, life, random, thoughts.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Earlier as I was watching “Meet Me In St. Louis” and it was at the part of the Winter Ball and everyone dancing. It got me to thinking that I don’t know how to dance! All I pretty much know how to do is head bang (that’s a metal head for ya) and sway. That’s all. Pretty sad, once ya think about it. At 24, I should at least know how to slow dance but I’ve never had the opportunity so I don’t even know how to do that. Well, I do know how to do the Electric Side but doesn’t everyone?

I would love to learn how to dance. I don’t mean the kind of stuff you see in the clubs because I would die if I ever had to grind on someone just to get them to notice me. I got a personality for that. But I would love to learn how to slow dance, like you see in movies because I think it’s so graceful how they move like their on air. I really don’t want to learn the ChaCha or Tango because while I have rhythm, it’s mostly sitting down and there is little chance of my feet getting tied up and falling. Line dancing probably wouldn’t be a good idea either because even sober, I look crazy dancing. I know it’s not hard to learn how to slow dance, but I’ve never had someone ask me. I sometimes have dreams that I’m slow dancing with someone and I’m so good at it, but I realize that I stink at it.

Maybe one of these years I will eventually learn the simple task of even just learning to dance without looking like an idiot because I know that’s what I must look like while dancing. I can’t head bang the rest of my life!

Comments»

1. Jackie - September 5, 2009

That sounds like a great idea! We all need to learn how to dance…

2. Pete | The Tango Notebook - September 7, 2009

Just sign up for a class. I’m a dance teacher and can tell you that learning Cha-cha will be easier than Tango (especially Argentine). Sign up for a local group class and remember this:

If you are terrible, talking about it will bore and annoy your class partner. If you keep quiet and do your best, they will always wonder about you and as you improve, will enjoy dancing with you more and more.

Downing yourself from the beginning creates a negative cycle in your mind that dooms you to failure. I’m biased, so if you’re aching to learn tango, then read this for a little motivational push.

Thank you for the honest post,
Pete | The Tango Notebook


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

