jump to navigation

Winter in the summer? Part 1 July 16, 2008

Posted by texasheartland in Christmas, dating, family, holidays, life, love, random, relationships, thoughts.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I know, it seems a little odd to be thinking of the wintertime when current temperatures soar above 99*. But when a thread was posted in a forum I am a member of, it got me to thinking about wintertime. Christmas to be exact. I usually start my shopping early because I already know what everybody wants. My sister wants that hot guitar, my mom wants another “Mom of The Year” knick knack, and my dad… he doesn’t care. But this year, I am at a loss. I have an extra person to shop for and everyone has changed.

Oh, the other person? Me and “E” talked for a looooooong time yesterday. We both did something to contribute to what happened.

But yea, everyone has changed from where they were last year. One year, my sister wants that new Johnny Depp movie. This year, she wants a guitar. My mom isn’t sure what she wants for Christmas, if anything. My dad, that’s a hard one. I can’t even remember what he got last year. This year, I’ll take the guitar too. I’ve always wanted one. What’s even harder is that “E”‘s birthday is 14 days before mine, and mine is 2 weeks before Christmas. I don’t want to have to get him something for his birthday then turn around and get him something for Christmas. Because this year, I plan on getting my twin something for her birthday (same as mine, remember that). Last year, I had pneumonia so I was too sick to even enjoy our birthday. Man, is Christmas and birthday gonna be hard to shop for!

I probably wouldn’t feel like Christmas is coming up too soon if it weren’t for the economy. Will anybody be able to celebrate Christmas? Who knows. But I can guaran-damn-tee that if the economy is just as bad, “It’s A Wonderful Life” won’t be playing in my household.

Comments»

1. romi41 - July 17, 2008

Well I hope you still play “A Christmas Story” marathon in your house if things don’t improve!

2. jurgenkahle - July 17, 2008

Hi
Why does every one forget us dad`s ?Sure we a bit older but that does not mean we do not play with toys anymore,everyone knows we never grow up

3. texasheartland - July 17, 2008

jurgenkahle, it’s not that I forget about my Dad. He’s just not picky about what he gets, making it hard to shop for him. He doesn’t disclose what he likes or enjoys.

romi41, I ALWAYS play “A Christmas Story”. I usually watch it atleast 3 times (because there’s nothing else on to watch that I ain’t seen a million times). Oh wait…

4. jurgenkahle - July 17, 2008

All men(dad`s) love to get a present even if they do not disclose it,get him something and you will see.Find out from friends at work or others and you will see something special and remember one day E is also going to be a dad.Sure most of us are not that taken by presents you wants socks or soap on a rope and all those every year presents?But saying all that ,it should not have to come to once a year to surprise the ones you love

5. merryl - July 17, 2008

Hi everyone,

I believe that something you can actually wear, like a watch or something you use everyday and always carry with you like a cell phone, perfume, a office table clock, an Ipod, a handbag, or a digital camera, is the most personal way to be remembered by the one you want to offer something to.

Every time that person will look at herself in the mirror or will use that something you have given her, she will think of you with gratitude and appreciation !

Summer sales are on on many web sites.

I have found an online department store called http://www.littlegiftideas.com. They have a variety of branded items including perfumes, watches, designers’ sunglasses, digital cameras, cell phones and hundreds of other great gifts starting at 3$ up to 5000$.

All items are sold at DEEP discounts if compared to the suggested retail prices.

If you dig a bit you will even find some that go for 80% off the usual retail price.

At the moment they have a summer sale on and they offer an additional 10% OFF their usual prices on most products.

I believe it is worth a visit since they have plenty of great opportunities for you to offer branded items in big demand at very affordable prices.

Merryl


Leave a Reply

