jump to navigation

Sad but true… August 6, 2008

Posted by texasheartland in Animals, cats, family, Pets, random, thoughts.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I regret to tell ya’ll that my house won’t be hearing the meows of little kittens. I’m saddened to say that Smokie has had a miscarriage. We’re not sure when, but it’s true. It’s kind of depressing to me because I love seeing Smokie as a mother. I know Smokie is depressed as well. She has been melancholy and wants constant attention. Experts say that cats aren’t saddened when one of their kittens are given away to good homes or have miscarriages. But that’s not true. Smokie “cries” every now and then and it breaks my heart to see her upset. I know she’s just a cat but we have a special bond…

…It all started right after high school graduation. We had just moved into the house 2 years before and didn’t have any pets. Mom decided that it was time to get a pet, and we’re cat lovers. We already knew what kind of pet we wanted. So she let me and my sister EACH pick out a kitten. so we went to this guy’s place who had 2 kittens he was wanted to give away. Their conditions were HORRIBLE. It was mid-July, and they were stuck in a little shack. Temperatures were reaching 100 and they only had water. They had wood shavings and wood chips to live on. He opened the door and these 2 tiny kittens came tumbling out. They were so small, they fit in the palm of your hand. A couple of days later, Smokie’s sister died and Smokie wasn’t doing too well. We thought she would die as well. I nursed her back to health and during that time, we bonded greatly…

I know why she had the miscarriage. She’s getting too old to have kittens. Sad to think about. Sad, but true.,

Comments»

1. bekkah - August 6, 2008

Omigosh, that IS really sad. I’m sorry to hear that.

I know people say it’s ‘just a cat’, but when they’re YOURS…they’re FAMILY! Our little guy was diagnosed with feline diabetes, five years ago, when I found out I CRIED in the vet’s office. He’s still hanging in there and doing okay, but you never want to see a loved one not feeling well…regardless of their species šŸ˜‰

2. Geri - August 6, 2008

I’m so sorry about your cat’s miscarriage. That is really sad… I am a HUGE cat lover and have 4 cats of my own. 2 of which had kittens about a month ago… one passed away tho’ and it broke my heart even tho’ it wasn’t here long. So there are 4 kittens and 4 grown up cats. The kittens we will eventually give away to a good home since we can’t afford alot of cats and they multiply fast. I hope the Mama cat is doing fine health wise, I’m sure she is not doing too good mentally. With your love she will pull thru just fine…

3. croneandbearit - August 8, 2008

I’m sorry sweetie and hope that Smokey is feeling better soon! Hugs, Linda

4. croneandbearit - August 8, 2008

Oops – I meant Smokie! (sorry) L

5. mandersmusings - August 10, 2008

I’m sorry sissy. I know how much you were looking forward to hearing the cute meows of grand furbabies. Smokie is taking it hard, too. That’s probably why she’s restless.

We love Smokie… even though she can get annoying when she lands on your chest when you’re dead asleep!!


Leave a Reply

