jump to navigation

A Christmas Memory December 23, 2008

Posted by texasheartland in Christmas, family, holidays, life, random, thoughts.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Well, it has finally arrived! With Christmas Eve being tomorrow, Christmas has finally made it. Am I relieved? A little. The Holiday season has been exceptionally stressful this time of year. And to make things worse, I have a cold. A cold… for Christmas! And for some reason, this year doesn’t have that little magic feeling Christmas is supposed to have. Somehow, I missed the memo on that one.

I look up and see the Christmas tree aglow but yet I feel like it is missing something. Everything is in it’s place and nothing is missing. Everything is where it’s supposed to be but something isn’t quite right. Then I am taken back to memories of when I was a little kid at Christmas.

After we got back home from Christmas Eve at our Aunt’s home, we would watch TV to see where Santa was and then scurry to bed so that he wouldn’t see us awake. Then me and Manders would wake up EXTREMELY early on Christmas morning and see what lovely gifts Santa left us.

Back then, there was a magical feeling of excitement and chills. So far this year all I have felt are chills (it’s cold outside!). Maybe because I’ve grown older and no longer look for Santa, but I want the excitement back. I miss it.

Comments»

1. sandysays1 - December 23, 2008

Sounds like you’re growin’ up. Gad Zooks! Didn’t you learn anything from Peter Pan? Regress – quick before its too late. Visit me at http://www.SandySays1.wordpress.com and read “Claus and the Consultant,” for some holiday laughs.

I guess I didn’t learn from Peter Pan! Tomorrow night, I will jump up and down (like when I was a tot) in excitement for Santa!

2. steppingthru - December 23, 2008

Don’t ever let being grown up stop you from acting like a child. I still love to watch Rudolph and Frosty on TV.

Very true… I still love to watch “Polar Express” even if I’ve seen it 10 times this year!

3. Jackie - December 24, 2008

~~i know, i miss those magickal moments that Christmas used to bring. now it is something to get through-never enough money, food or presents and always stuff going wrong. even Christmas songs don’t make me feel warm and fuzzy-even White Christmas failed to make it happen this year. Get over your cold and get well soon. love ya, momma

Yea, I agree that it didn’t feel like Christmas this year.


Leave a Reply

