jump to navigation

Oh I hurt so much…. January 27, 2009

Posted by texasheartland in dogs, Feelings, Pets, rant, thoughts, vent.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Zeus (our dog) bolted out the door, and i was on the other side of the street with him… This car was coming and he ran across the street towards our mom… This car was driving and she had enough time to slam on her breaks but no… She ran him over. I screamed no and fell to my knees. She didn’t even stop. He’s alive but barely. I love my dog… I don’t want him to go… Oh god, i can’t take it.

And knowing how we got him, it just makes it that much worse. I hurt so much.

UPDATE

The vet said that he has a broken leg, a lot of scrapes and cuts, a possible fractured rib and possible a concussion. We still aren’t out of the woods yet, but he is wagging his tail and trying to get up. The next 24 hours will tell.

Comments»

1. sandysays1 - January 27, 2009

My sympathies for you and my prayers for your dog. Hopefully the vet can save him.

2. AmandaK - January 28, 2009

There will be no sleep for us, will there? I know you’re scared about the next 24 hours. So am I! We will constantly watch him but I think because he has so much will power, he will come out of it. I love ya sis!!!

3. AmandaK - January 28, 2009

Me again! I just wanted to let you know that is still doing okay. He’s still trying to get up (not surprising with his personality) and I have been checking up on his constantly while mom naps!!

4. Tesa S. - January 28, 2009

This exact scenario happened to me a couple months ago. We live down a County Road, and I was walking to the mailbox with all my dogs. Our newest pup, who is a huge 75-pound, 7-month old Rhodesian Ridgeback “Duke”, was running clumsily beside me. He ran off ahead, and I saw the truck coming. It was a nightmare. I hollered and he kept on running towards the road. Luckily the guy wasn’t going very fast and saw (or heard) me yelling, hit the brakes, skidded and came to a stop right in front of the mailbox. He hit Duke, and the front tire almost caught but just scraped his back leg. Luckily he didn’t break any bones, but he had a terrible road rash and his hair is just now beginning to grow back in that area. It’s like one of your kids getting hurt, and seeing it makes it worse because you feel like you could’ve done something to prevent it. Prayers for your pup and you.

5. delaney55 - January 30, 2009

You know why the jerk didn’t stop? She was afraid to admit what happened and might be responsible for the vet bills. People can be so insensitive.

I sincerely hope your poor dog gets better soon. We love our pets as much as if they were a part of the family and it is so upsetting when something happens to them especially since we can’t ask them where it hurts or let them know how worried we are. Best of luck with him.


Leave a Reply

