jump to navigation

I feel bad for her… February 27, 2009

Posted by texasheartland in Animals, birth, cats, Feelings, kittens, Pets, thoughts.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Smokie gave birth last night around 4:30am while we were all asleep. Manders woke me up to tell me that Smokie was having her kittens so I tell her to turn on the light and I sat up. She was right- Smokie had already had a kitten and we were awaiting the 2nd one. Unfortunately, the first was stillborn. It was extremely tiny and really underdeveloped. Then the 2nd came and we thought it was stillborn as well- until we saw it breathe! So I helped Smokie since she hasn’t done this in years. I knew this one wasn’t going to make it either but it was still breathing so I decided to let it live its last and first hours with Smokie.

So I put her nesting box right beside my bed so I could keep an eye on the both of them while I slept. But I couldn’t go back to sleep. I watched TV for about an hour, maybe an hour and 1/2 before finally falling asleep. I would wake up periodically through the night to make sure Mama was doing okay and to see if the kitten was still breathing. It wasn’t feeding so I don’t know how it lasted as long as it did. But it passed somewhere in the night (or early morning).

I feel really bad for Smokie, I really do. I thought this would be the “miracle pregnancy” and we’d have kittens running around the house in a few months. Hell, it was even hard for me because I felt so bad for her. I know she’s depressed and will spend as much time with her as I can. It’s really depressing.

Comments»

1. Bubu The Psycho Cat - February 27, 2009

😦

but life is life and we must move ahead

I agree. Thank you for commenting.

2. Confetti Dreams - February 27, 2009

I’m sorry to hear about Smokie. She’s been a great mother in the past! I’m glad she has you to comfort her!

Thank you.

3. croneandbearit - March 1, 2009

Sweetie I’m so sorry about Smokie’s kittens. Give her lots of hugs for me and I’m sending you big hugs, too.

Thank you so much, I truly appreciate it! We could sure use those hugs!


Leave a Reply

