jump to navigation

Confusion… April 19, 2009

Posted by texasheartland in Books, Christopher Moore, Feelings, learning, life, random, reading, thoughts.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

This doesn’t have to deal with Cyber Guy (though we are still talking) or someone I have my eye on. This actually has to deal with a book.

If you may remember from previous posts, I am reading Fool by gore-author Christopher Moore. I usually have no problems following his books because they’re plain and straightforward. I thought it was going to be the same way with this book. Was I totally wrong the minute I started reading it! Let me set it for you: It is set in 1288 where a king’s fool is set out to set the king’s misdoings straight but end up getting into trouble himself. Sounds easy enough, don’t you agree? Wrong! I love Christopher Moore and have ready almost every book (except 1 or 2) so I should be used to his writing. But I didn’t live in England at 1288 so I don’t speak 1288 English Slang. Luckily they have footnotes for some slang words so I can follow along.

But so far, it’s a pretty interesting book! Pocket, the main character, meets witches, cats, and other characters. I am hoping that by the time I have to return it to the library, I will have finished and understood it. Okay, well, not 100% but most of it. Hell, I remember the first Christopher Moore book I read. My mom had checked out “The Stupidest Angel” from our local library and only read a couple of pages but she enjoyed it. She thought I would so I decided to read it. I was enthralled with it! I loved it! I fell in love with Moore’s writing style so I decided to buy Practical Demonkeeping, which is like another awesome book.

Maybe reminding myself of his other works will give me confidence that I can finish the book. We’ll see.

Comments»

1. Confetti Dreams - April 20, 2009

Still don’t understand it? DUDE!!!!


Leave a Reply

