jump to navigation

Decorator I am not… April 23, 2009

Posted by texasheartland in Animals, cats, Cleaning, dogs, family, Feelings, fun, funny, Home Decor, learning, life, random, thoughts.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Crone and Bear It’s newest blog post reminded me that I am far from ever being a house decorator.

You can tell that the bedroom belongs to someone who isn’t in her 30’s. There are stuffed animals everywhere (okay, not everywhere. Several on the desk, on a nightstand, and on a shelf), mismatched curtains, a HUGE Longhorns above to bed like a headboard, and books everywhere. CDs are strewn about and none of the covers match. In fact, I have a black/beige blanket while Twin has a designer-looking blanket. Nothing seems to match and even the UT stuff I have accumulated are in different places. Even some of the curtains are hanging at different lengths.

Yea, I am 100% sure I am not a decorator.

I would watch HGTV for those home decorating shows and feel inspired. I would look around the bedroom and think “Oh yea, if we move this over here, it would look better!”. I would move the item but would be faced with another dilemma- where to put the item that was just replaced with something else. Because we don’t have storage or a big house for that matter, we have boxes stacked in the bedroom. It looks like we could be moving! So naturally, if I can’t find an item that was replaced for something else, it goes into a box. Yes, the boxes are labeled. Told you it looked like we’re moving.

Luckily, after Valentine’s Day, I finally put my prized Nutcracker away until the Holidays. But another problem goes along with that. What the hell do I put in there for Spring? I have cats so plants are out of the question. I have a dog so indoor trees are out of the question. I don’t even have a stuffed bunny. Sad, I know. I would love to paint the bedroom a nice rich dark color but where to put the pets while we paint is a problem. Princess and Patches don’t exactly get along. We’re not sure why. Maybe I’ll just buy yards and yards of fabric and use it as wallpaper. Safe, easy, efficient, and reuseable. Yea, fabric as wall paper. Brilliant idea!

Comments»

1. Lynn - April 24, 2009

~~But you have inspiring ideas and that’s the main thing. You just live somewhere where you aren’t able to do what you want-trust me I feel the same way…hang in there and one of these days you will be able to decorate to your heart’s desire!!!

2. Confetti Dreams - April 25, 2009

Don’t you love how you get ideas and yet, can’t do anything about it?? Where’s that famous decorator when you need it??


Leave a Reply

