jump to navigation

6 Years Ago… April 24, 2009

Posted by texasheartland in family, Feelings, funny, life, memories, Moms, random, thoughts.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Me and Mom were just talking. Why, on earth, she mentioned it, I will never know. It made me feel old.

I know we were talking about a local college’s graduation month and she said that the high schools’ graduations weren’t until June. She seemed shocked by this- especially when I told her that me and Manders had graduated in June. I even remembered the date- June 3rd. I won’t post the year for the fear that I will feel old again.

I guess it doesn’t matter. What I am about to say will still make me feel old.

She mentioned that me and Manders had been out of high school for 6 years.

Mom: Does it make you feel old? Being out for 6 years?

Me: Yes. I mean, it doesn’t feel like 6 years. But I can’t believe it’s been 6 years already.

6 years. Wow. I know it hasn’t been that long but in 4 years, it will mean that our 10 year reunion will be coming up. Granted, I will be in college so I won’t be able to attend. But that just makes me feel old for some reason. You ever have those days when you go back to graduation, realize how long it has been, and suddenly feel ancient? Sometimes I will think back to high school. How I looked back then, how I acted, and what went on. It has been 8 years since our house (which we just live down the street from!) burned down. I still feel old looking back to those days.

Thanks Mom. I might be 24, but damn do I feel old now.

Comments»

1. Confetti Dreams - April 25, 2009

Thanks for making ME feel old. You’re a sweetheart…

2. Lynn - April 25, 2009

~My Bad-for making u feel old-how do u think I feel? Almost 55 f/me and when I think how far the 3 of us have come-wow!


Leave a Reply

