jump to navigation

Stepping Outside The Box May 17, 2009

Posted by texasheartland in Beauty, family, Feelings, fun, Hair, learning, life, random, Siblings, sisters, thoughts, twins.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

If you have been reading since February, you will know that my sister dyed her hair purple. Yes, purple. She doesn’t conform to what society thinks we should look like. So if she enjoys having purple hair (which I personally think looks awesome on her), she will dye her hair purple. Hell, she’s dyed it blue and red before.

A week ago while I was out with Twin and Mom, I started thinking. Why can’t I be like that? I cannot step outside my comfort zone enough to dye my hair an unnatural color and admire Twin that she can do it. So, I thought again. Was there a way I could actually stay within my comfort area while breaking free of the chains society has on me? Yes, there is.

I declared it to Manders and Mom my plan. It will take a couple of months of finish but if everything works out and sissy helps me in every possible way, it should look awesome and reflect my personality to a “T. What is my plan? I plan on putting a little of unnatural color in my hair. I have jet black hair but after a while, it gets so blah looking. I have a vibrant personality so why not let my hair show that part of me? I plan on dying my hair jet black to cover up any dark brown roots showing. Then this summer, I plan on putting red streaks in my hair. Yes, you read that right. Red streaks. If my sister can show she is not afraid to be different, then I shouldn’t either. After all, we are twins. And while we may seem like your next-door twins, people come to find out that in person, we are totally crazy and random. We like to have fun, even if it’s just the 2 of us in the bedroom, throwing balled up paper at each other.

I can’t say how long I will keep the streaks. I guess it’s something I will have to see before I commit to keep the streaks after 6 months. I guess it’s time to finally start stepping outside the box. Can’t stay scared to try new things the rest of my life.

Comments»

1. Manders - May 17, 2009

The red streaks will look gorgeous in your way!!

2. Lynn - May 17, 2009

~~Can’t wait to see you and Manders’ new hair color!!! Will be totally rad and cool–I know how hard it is to step outside your comfort zone/box-sometimes you just have to do it and jump.

3. MidwestMom - May 17, 2009

Awesome, Can’t wait to see how it turns out


Leave a Reply

