jump to navigation

Summertime… May 27, 2009

Posted by texasheartland in fall, family, Feelings, life, random, rant, Siblings, sisters, summer, thoughts, twins.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Call me crazy, but I think I am one of those Texans that absolutely hates the Summertime.

Yes, I am not a fan of Summer. When a Texas Summer can reach over 100* every day, all you want to do is sleep in a tub full of ice. It’s too hot to do much of anything outside without being drenched in sweat. Even Zeus and that kitties complain that it’s too hot. I guess if I had fur, I would too.

Then again, I do look forward to a few things every time Summer tolls around. I love the 4th of July fireworks. They’re so beautiful against the Texas sky on a hot Summer night. I also enjoy getting into water fights against Manders with the water hose. EVERY Summer, we have water fights and have been doing so since we were little. It’s a great way to cool off and it’s super fun! We end up getting soaking wet but it’s a small price to pay for family fun!

Other than that, I prefer to stay somewhere there is an air conditioner. If I have to go out, I always have shorts, flip flops, and sunglasses on. I live for the day I can wear flip flops once again. I would wear them 365 days out of the year if I could. I know it’s not exactly stylish but when the temperature reaches 110* in August, you can’t exactly go out in public in your skivvies.

I am counting the day until I can put away the shorts (keeping the flip flops) and put on a sweater. I live for the Fall Season and even though it’s not even June yet, I cannot wait until the first cool front comes through to make my body send chills down my spine and my nose tingle with the scent of Fall. Maybe that’s something to look forward to.

Comments»

1. Confetti Dreams - May 27, 2009

Don’t feel bad… I absolutely hate Summer! By the way, how did you get that Texas Banter signature?? I would like one!

2. Ellie W - May 27, 2009

Oh I absolutely agree with you. I’m right outside Dallas and I am already looking forward to the first cold front of the fall. I don’t love the cold either, but the broiling hot temps of July and August in Texas are something I could definitely live without.

3. Lynn - May 27, 2009

~~Me want Fall also……I dread this summer…..yuk!

4. Lynn - May 27, 2009

~~But forgot to add, I enjoy 4th of July, picnics and watching you guys have waterfights….


Leave a Reply

