jump to navigation

June… June 3, 2009

Posted by texasheartland in birthday, family, Fantasy, life, love, Moms, random, Siblings, thoughts.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Ah, June. It finally decided to grace us with it’s presence. Yuck, Summer has arrived. Not officially (that comes on June 21st), but close enough. With a 100* stuck in there for the high as Saturday, it’s Summer. You can’t convine me otherwise.

What else is in June? A birthday. No, not mine! That’s in December. Mom will be having a birthday this month. June 18th, if I remember correctly. My mom turns another year older and another year wiser. I am not saying how old she is because I don’t want her to feel old. Not that it’s a bad thing I just want her to feel as young as I do on occasion.

But I don’t even know what to get her for her birthday. Yea, I could get her another card. True, I could get her some chocolate. But that’s just like Valentine’s Day- minus the big stuffed bear. I want something unique this year. Flowers, framed picture of me and Manders, her favorite TV show on DVD, a pretty throw, a new car… Ok, that last one MIGHT be a little over the top. But you know what I mean. The only problem would be trying to find money myself so me and Twin could get it secretly. It might throw off the whole “surprise” element if we go up and ask “Mama? Could we have some money so we could buy you a birthday present?”.

I know she’s reading this so the whole “Surprise! Happy Birthday Mama!” has been thrown out the window. I am not creative as far as crafts so I can’t make her something. Considering I’m accident prone, I’d probably hurt myself in the process. Maybe I should talk with Sissy and see what she wants to do.

You what’s even more scarier than trying to buy a gift for Mom? That fact that Twin and I will be turning a quarter-of-a-century old in 6 months! It seems to me that time keeps going by more quickly by the year. There’s an episode of Futurama (why do I always seem to relate everything to either Futurama or Family Guy?) where time skips by the second, by the minute, or even by the years. Sometimes, that’s how it feels. One minute you could be doing something and the next minute, it seems as if a year has gone by. Kind of scary, if you ask me.

Now, I am off to find out what to get my dearest Mommy for her birthday.

Comments»

1. Lynn - June 3, 2009

~~trust me–time goes into fast forward mode now as you get older-imagine tonight we were talking about halloween!!-but fun– but what i might do is give u guys some money to work with on the birthday thing-i am content with nothing but your love-but i know that won’t work-so i will give u something to work with and surprise me with…..so a ear has gone by huh~~couldn’t resist—-and at least i am dearest mommy and not mommy dearest…..

2. Manders - June 4, 2009

Like you, I don’t know what to get dearest Momma. I guess we’ll figure something out. And you misspelled “convince” he he Love ya!

3. croneandbearit - June 5, 2009

Sweetie I remember when I turned a quarter century and was amazed – now I’m a half century and it’s no longer important. What’s important is to spend every moment as if it were your last no matter what your age. Life is precious and we only have so many moments to savor it. Your mommy doesn’t care what you get her, what’s important to her is your forever love. So don’t spend alot of money – Moms don’t care about how much something costs – it’s the love that goes along with it that counts. And if you’re concerned about money, check out some of the cool things at the flea markets, garage sales or the Dollar stores. Hugs!


Leave a Reply

