jump to navigation

Christmas in July: Toy Memory July 15, 2009

Posted by texasheartland in Christmas, Christmas in July, family, Feelings, gifts, holidays, life, memories, Siblings, sisters, thoughts, Toys.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

For some odd reason, I have the gift of remembering things that have no relevance to the “now”. I can remember things from 2nd grade all the way up to certain seconds in my life in high school. But as we celebrate Christmas in July, I am reminded of a special toy that Manders and I once received when we were about 5 years old.

It was nearing Christmas and we were walking through the mall after seeing Santa. The mall wasn’t as bad as it is now, so it was fairly easy to just take a detour through Sears and create a wishlist in your mind. That is, until we came upon the motherload. It was a Disney castle. The most perfect castle we had ever seen and it was beautiful! We thought it was huge, but we’re only 5. We begged and begged Mom and Dad for it. Of course, we had just had our birthday so we already had presents at home to play with but we wanted that castle so badly! But Mom and Dad said that it was too expensive, we couldn’t get it this year. I can’t remember if we cried or if we just stormed out because we were upset.

Christmas Eve came and we just knew we weren’t going to get the castle. At 5 years old, you know these things. We went over to our Aunt’s house that evening for the annual Christmas get-together. We came home, and looked for Santa on the radar. The minute we saw that he was getting close, we hurried up the stairs to bed. We couldn’t wait for Christmas morning to arrive.

Manders and I woke up on Christmas morning and tiptoed to Mom and Dad’s bedroom. We went inside and asked them if we could open presents. When they said we could, we raced down the steps, looked at the bottom of the Christmas tree. Jiminey Cricket, our castle! There it was in all its glory- Mickey, Minnie, Goofy, and even Pluto! It had a car so you could drive Pluto into the carport. It opened so you could place Minnie in the bedroom. We played with it for days on end. I found out as soon as I got older that they had already bought it for us before we even saw it but couldn’t tell us.

I tried to Google it and spent almost an hour looking for it, but thus, I didn’t succeed. I can’t seem to find the childhood toy I remember so vividly!

Comments»

1. Confetti Dreams - July 15, 2009

Sadly, I have no recollection of that! Man! I wish I could remember!

2. MidwestMom - July 15, 2009

I wanted to go fishing badly with my dad and he told me that first i had to have a fishing pole so I wrote a letter to santa asking for a fishing pole well I woke up christmas morning and looked no fishing pole sure i had got other great gifts but I had my heart set on a fishing pole. So I decided to go play out side in the snow well my dad called me in the house to warm up and as I was hanging up my coat and taking off my boots my dad called me over to tree and told me to look again. There behind the tree was my Daiwa fishing pole I was so happy that I bounced around the house. That is one memory that I will never forget nor will I ever forget going fishing with my dad.. I miss him so..

3. Lynn - July 18, 2009

~~You have the best memory-I am so envious of you. Just wish I could remember all the wonderful memories you have-but you have them and that is all that counts!!!!!


Leave a Reply

