jump to navigation

CIJ: Stocking Stuffers July 16, 2009

Posted by texasheartland in Beauty, Candles, candy, chocolate, Christmas, Christmas in July, Gift Ideas, gifts, holidays, shopping.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback


I love Stocking Stuffers. To me, they are always useful in one way or another. Even if it’s for entertainment, I consder it well worth the heavy stocking.

In fact, one thing I love to receive in my stocking in candy. Every Christmas, Mom puts chocolate  in our stocking, which makes a great breakfast. If someone is allergic to chocolate in your family or (yikes!) doesn’t like chocolate, put in some of their favorite candies in their stocking and a few in the others so that they don’t feel left out because they can’t have/don’t want chocolate.

Books and CDs are another wonderful stocking stuffer. As a bookworm and music lover, any books by my favorite author or CD by my favorite band are always welcome. Books are a great stocking stuffer for children who are learning to read, and music is a great item for those who have a deep love for music. Either way, books and CDs should always be on a stocking stuffer list.

Hair accessories and beauty products will always be a wonderful Christmas gift, whether it’s under the tree or in a stocking. Women already know what it feels like to receive those items at Christmas, because we are always looking for ways to make our hair look better or our skin. Some women might be offended if given beauty products they don’t use or hair accessories that they don’t enjoy, but a lot of women accept them with open arms. I personally love hair accessories, but not so much beauty products. So ask them if they enjoy beauty products or hair accessories before taking that plunge- you don’t want to upset a woman on Christmas!

Believe it or not, a TickleMe Plant is probably one of the COOLEST gifts ANYONE could receive! If you don’t know what a TickleMe Plant is, it is a plant that closes its fronds when you touch it. I  am not lying! Go to TicklMe Plant.com, look for the I Love My TickleMe Plant video and watch it. I love the TickleMe Plant and have always wanted on! At the website, you can actually get party favors so you can get one for each kid or even get a few for your friend’s kids! Pretty cool, huh?

Of course, we can’t forget the scratch-off lottery tickets and gift cards. I know I am hard to shop for, so I wouldn’t be surprised if I got a gift card every Christmas. And with the lottery tickets, it just makes it that much more fun scratching the stuff off and realizing you’ve won $10- on Christmas morning! True, you’ll have to wait until Dec. 26th or later that evening to cash it in, but hey, that’s $10 you didn’t have before!

Candles and Incense are another great stocking stuffer. No, this isn’t a way of telling your friend her house stinks. It is the gift of light and smell, even for those who have no sense of smell (Anosmia). Most candles these days are beautiful to look at and incense just brings a calming  sensation over the person(s) within 5 feet of the scent. There are TONS of places to buy candles and incense, especially on the web.

106ABAED65EC4EF60867C8CFD02544F6

Comments»

1. Confetti Dreams - July 16, 2009

Aww! You knew the name for what I am- an anosmiac (and an insomniac). Great ideas!

2. Amy's Stocking Stuffers - July 17, 2009

I’ve never heard of the Tickle Me plants before — will have to check those out!

By the way, I learned one year when my mom put Hershey Kisses and scented soap in the same stocking — chocolate can pick up the scent (and therefore the taste — blech!) of the soap. Just something to watch out for!

I’m always looking for new stocking stuffer ideas to list on my blog, especially inexpensive or do-it-yourself ideas.

Thanks for your fun post!

3. Lynn - July 18, 2009

Yep, that’s another thing to do this year. Lots of fun stocking stuffers…..


Leave a Reply

