jump to navigation

“V” Shape July 26, 2009

Posted by texasheartland in Animals, Autumn, dogs, fall, Feelings, life, random, Seasons, Texas, thoughts.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

It’s been a few days since Zeus has been outside due to the fact that Mom and and I haven’t been feeling our best the past few days. We both suffer from ulcers (which is normal for some who have had their gallbladders removed), and on top of that, I was having issues with my sinuses. Of course, for us sinus sufferers, this isn’t something new. Summer always brings out the worst of allergens and I am always sniffling or stocking up on tissue. I hate Summer. LOL Have I mentioned that before?

geesev_bigSo last night, Manders and I decided to take Zeus out to play in his kiddie pool we had bought for him. As he splashed around, getting us wet, I looked up at the sky and saw birds flying in a “V” formation. A chill ran down my spine. Seeing that, for me, means cooler weather will soon be here. It has also been getting darker sooner. That’s another great sign! Texas has had such a brutal Summer that any sign of cooler weather just sends our hears aflutter. Most Texans enjoy the Summer, though I’m sure they changed their minds this time as temperatures easily hit 108* by the time it’s 3PM. As I look to see what the temperatures are for the rest of the week, I can’t help but smile. It seems as if the triple digit heat will leave us alone atleast until Friday.

I love Texas in the Fall. It’s absolutely gorgeous. As the setting Sun hits the oak tree in the back in November, its as if the tree were on fire. Seeing the kitten that lives outside play as the leaves fall around him, not sure which leaf to play with since there are so many. Watching a squirrel forage for food before Winter arrives as he brushes past huge bundles of fallen leaves. Watching the trees change from Summer green to burnt orange right before your very eyes.

Texas is beautiful in the Fall. I love Texas.

Comments»

1. croneandbearit - July 26, 2009

I love the Fall – it’s my favorite season – but I truly detest what follows especially in light of what happened to me Last winter. So I’m not quite ready to see the geese in their V formations just yet – let them stay in the ponds for a little longer here, please. Your autumn pic is absolutely stunning. Hugs!

2. Lynn - July 26, 2009

~~Love the pic and sure hope it is a sign that Fall/Autumn is on its way!!!–hope, hope, hope…..And like you my favorite season of the year….

3. MidwestMom - July 26, 2009

I love Fall, Being in Florida we did not get to see leaves change the way they do here in Missouri. And the kids and I have so much fun playing in them when they are in a pile.. I’m looking forward to Fall..

4. MommaYoung - July 28, 2009

That is a beautiful picture.


Leave a Reply

